• Home
  • / Blog News / Galbiati and Postiglione seize points lead at Misano

Galbiati and Postiglione seize points lead at Misano

with second successive Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe victory

Kikko Galbiati and Vito Postiglione struck late to claim their second Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe victory of the season at Misano,
beating Imperiale Racing team-mates Karol Basz and Bartosz Paziewski.
The #8 Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo Evo of Basz and Paziewski led for most of the race,
having topped qualifying by a staggering 1.036 seconds, but Paziewski slowed momentarily on the
back straight with 16 minutes of the race remaining, gifting the #44 of Galbiati the lead.
Galbiati then opened the gap at the front to nearly 10 seconds at the finish, to record his and
Postiglione’s second successive win, following the pairing’s Race 2 victory in the opening round
at Silverstone.
Bonaldi Motorsport’s Danny Kroes and Sergei Afanasiev claimed the final step on the podium in
third, having maintained their starting position throughout the race.
At the rolling start, it was pole-sitter Basz who got the early jump and led defending
Super Trofeo Europe champion Postiglione into the first corner.
Further back, racing veteran and Pro-Am driver Piero Necchi spun into retirement in the
#55 Imperiale Racing Huracán. The Italian, who raced a variety of single-seater cars in the late
1970s and early 1980s was unable to get his car going again and was out on lap one.
Basz showed the same blistering pace he displayed in qualifying by setting consecutive fastest
laps to open up a four-second advantage over Postiglione.

The Pole’s lead though was wiped out after Josef Zaruba crashed his Micanek Motorsport
Huracán approaching Curva della Quercia, bringing out the safety car.
Postiglione was the first of the front-runners to pit when the window opened, with Basz following
a lap later. The order remained unchanged but the #44, now with Galbiati at the wheel, began
closing in on team-mate Paziewski.
Once in the lead, Galbiati was never challenged and Pasiewski cruised home 9.863 seconds in
arrears at the flag but comfortably ahead of the #3 Bonaldi Motorsport car of Afanasiev.
Just off the podium, Niels Lagrange and Anthony Lambert claimed fourth for Leipert Motorsport,
while the Target Racing duo Davide Venditti and new team-mate Jonathan Cecotto finished fifth.
Pro-Am winners Shota Abkhazava and Harald Schlegelmilch claimed a superb sixth overall, one
place ahead of Silverstone Race 1 victors Jack Bartholomew and Stuart Middleton (Bonaldi
Taking victory in the Am class was Raffaele Giannoni in the single-entry
Automobile Tricolore Huracán. Giannoni battled hard with the #63 of Cedric Leimer – who later
spun out at Turn 1 – and the Pro-Am of Luca Demarchi, eventually finishing a creditable eighth
Gerhard van Der Horst took his first victory of the season in the Lamborghini Cup ahead of
brothers François and Benoît Semoulin.