24 Hours of Daytona: Three in a row the aim

for Lamborghini in season opening endurance race

Following historic back-to-back victories at the traditional curtain raiser to the motorsport season in 2018 and 2019, Lamborghini Squadra Corse is aiming for a repeat success at the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona on the 25-26th January.

Held at the Daytona International Speedway, the 24 Hours is not just a stand-out event on the endurance racing calendar, but also the opening round of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

Leading the Lamborghini charge is GRT Grasser Racing Team, with one part of the reigning International GT Open championship winning team Albert Costa making his first competitive appearance as a Lamborghini Factory Driver in the #11 Lamborghini Huracán GT3 Evo.

The Spaniard will be joined by Frenchman Franck Perera, Dutchman Steijn Schothorst and local driver Richard Heistand; the latter will be driving in just his second year of GT racing. This quartet of drivers will have a lot to live up to, as the #11 was the winner – in the hands of Mirko Bortolotti, Rolf Ineichen, Rik Breukers and Christian Engelhart – of the previous two 24 Hours.

GRT has also teamed up with two other teams for the 2020 IMSA season, with GEAR Racing fielding an all-female line-up. GEAR, which stands for Girl Empowerment Around Racing, have recruited two-time IMSA GT Daytona champion Christina Nielsen to partner Katherine Legge in the #19 Huracán GT3 Evo.

They will be partnered by former DTM and FIA GT1 driver Rahel Frey and single seater star Tatiana Calderón for the 24 Hours of Daytona.

Magnus Racing Team is another team to partner with GRT this season and their line-up remains unchanged from the 2019 edition. Last year’s GT World Challenge Europe champion Marco Mapelli returns alongside veteran Andy Lally, Spencer Pumpelly and John Potter in the #44 machine.

Mapelli’s GT World Challenge Europe champion team-mate Andrea Caldarelli will form one part of the Paul Miller Racing quartet of drivers for the endurance classic, with double Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America champion Corey Lewis accompanied by Bryan Sellers and Madison Snow in the #48 Huracán.

Precision Performance Motorsport will field one car in the 24 Hours, with Super Trofeo North America regular Brandon Gdovic partnering Erix Lux, with Mark Kvamme and Sunoco Whelan Challenge winner Johnathan Hoggard also joining the line-up.