Breukers and Jefferies won Race 2

of Lamborghini Super Trofeo Middle East

The youngster drivers Rik Breukers and Axcil Jefferies and have taken the rewards of a weekend that saw them shine during all sessions, except for Race 1 where they went faultlessly out of the race for a contact at the first corner. Race 2, which took place on Saturday, February 11th at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, has seen thus the crew of the Huracan Super Trofeo # 7 fielded by GDL Racing won the race, thanks to a very fast race pace and to perfect conduct of both PRO drivers.

Started from pole position thanks to the best time clocked in qualifying, the eighteen-years old Rik Breukers, member of the Lamborghini Young Drivers Program, had immediately to give up the first positiom to Marco Antonelli, author of a calibrated overtake at the first corner and winner of Race 1 on Friday. But after six laps in a qualifying pace for both drivers, Breukers has found its way to recover the lead.

At the pit lane opening for the driver change, the Huracan #7 of GDL Racing get in immediately, with Axcil Jefferies behind the wheel after Rik Breukers, while Marco Antonelli has exploited the entire time window trying to leave the car to David Roda in an optimal position.

After the drivers change, the twenty-two years driver coming from the GP2 Series, Axcil Jefferies, has continued to lead the race, with a very fast and steady pace. Davide Roda has managed well the second position until the end of the race, stemming the comeback of Huracan # 27 of Bertuzzi and Farmer (GDL Racing, PRO-AM) finished in third place.

The PRO class saw the duo of GDL Racing Breukers-Jefferies winning the race and behind them, in the second and third position (5th and 7th overall), the two crews of the FFF Racing Team by ACM: the first formed by the American Richard Goddard and the nineteen year old German female driver Carrie Schreiner; the second crew with the English Jack Bartholomew (author of the fastest lap) and the Indian Parth Ghorpade, all at their first experience in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo.

In PRO-AM class, Costantino Bertuzzi and Nigel Farmer won again after Race 1 on Friday, thanks to a fast and consistent pace over the whole weekend. Behind them are placed Paul Scheuschner and Hendrik Still (Konrad Motorsport), already on P2 in Race 1, and the duo of GT3 Poland Mikrut and Moczulski.

AM class was again a success for Antonelli and Roda, constantly on the podium, while in second position there are Andrew Haryanto (GDL Racing) and Lewandowski-Myszkowski (GT3 Poland).

Lamborghini Cup category saw the italian Gabriele Murroni (Petri Corse), at his debut on the track, get a double victory during the weekend.


Drivers’ quotes


Rik Breukers - GDL Racing n. 7 (first overall and first in PRO class): "At the start I preferred to take no risks and leave the P1 to Antonelli. But then after a few laps, during which I held his pace, I managed to find a space to get over the first position."


Axcil Jefferies - GDL Racing n. 7 (first overall and first in PRO class): "Yesterday was certainly not a good day, after the contact at the first corner, but today we definitely happy. Rik did an amazing stint and regarding me I tried to keep a steady and fast pace, which allowed us to win."


Nigel Farmer - GDL Racing n. 27 (first in the PRO-AM class with Costantino Bertuzzi): "Fantastic! Two victories at my first race in the Super Trofeo Middle East! Costantino was fantastic and I really enjoyed the race so much. The Huracan is incredible and handles very well, also the whole environment is very friendly. "


Davide Roda - Antonelli Motorsport n. 72 (first in the AM class with Marco Antonelli): "It goes very well today, considering we were starting from the first row. Marco did a great stint and left me the car in a great position. It was hard to keep the pace of Breukers and Jefferies, but I think I managed the game well and so we got another podium. "


After the inaugural race at the Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi, the second round of the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Middle East will take place at the Dubai Autodrome February 16 to 18.